螢幕擷取畫面 2021-12-11 230814.png

OMQ 
Christmas Edition

The author of Hong Kong’s most famous comic "Old Master Q", is Wang Jiaxi. It began in 1962 within Hong Kong newspapers drawing comics using his first son Wang Ze's name as a pen name. He later changed it to an individual volumes which has become the most recognisable comic from Hong Kong. Using comedy to satirise the shortcomings of human nature, "Old Master Q" immediately struck a cord with locals by capturing the microcosms of life in the city. It was later translated into different languages and exported to countries such as Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Singapore and India, bringing a slice of Hong Kong's sub-culture to the world.

 

Mr. Wang died in 2017, and his son, Wang Ze, continues the "Old Master Q" legacy. Legacy is also an important word in the Whisky world, fine whiskies are ageing in cask for years or even decades, passed on from generation to generation.

 

Hong Kong Whisky launched our inaugural collection on 11 November 2020 and this year there will be 6 new bottles released under two additional series plus a Christmas Special Edition bottle. Every product is made in small batches from selected single casks and each individually numbered bottle would make a perfect Christmas present or addition to a private collection.

bottle-glen-garioch_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Glen Garioch 2011
Christmas Edition

Distilled: 04.10.2011
Bottled: 18.10.2021
10 Years Old
54%
First Fill Barrel  
220 Bottles

HK Whisky Christmas Edition

Glen Garioch 2011

Before the introduction of a new tax system in England 1823, most distilleries were operating without a licence and as a result there were many missing official records. According to some , the oldest distillery is Glenturret built in 1775 but local legend says you should look towards Glen Garioch! Although Glen Garioch was officially founded in 1797, it is not hard to imagine that the distillery's operating history is much older thanks to its location at Oldmeldrum which is known as the best barley producer in Scotland.
 
Even though Glen Garioch had access to Scotland's best barley, it was forced to stop production because of a lack of water! After finding new owners in 1970, there was an all-out search for a new water source. Three years later the operation was miraculously resuscitated and distilling at larger quantities than before. The distillery is now owned by Suntory which also owns Bowmore. They borrowed Bowmore's thermal recycling system which redistributes  heat from the distillation process to a nearby greenhouse to grow juicy tomatoes.
 
Hong Kong Whisky unearths a legendary Glen Garioch just in time to celebrate Christmas. This arrives as a special edition release after being distilled in 2011 and matured in a first fill barrel for 10 years. Just as OMQ & Big Potato is sharing a merry time on the bottle artwork, this glorious dram will be the perfect companion to keep family & friends warm over Christmas! Limited to 220 bottles only!
 


 

螢幕擷取畫面 2021-12-12 003235.png

OMQ Series II
“Free For Yum Cha?”

HK Whisky Blair Athol 2010

 

Blair Athol is one of Scotland’s oldest distilleries. Founded in 1798 under its original name Aldour, it shortly closed operations for two plus decades until it reopened in 1826 under its current title.
 
Blair Athol's name was most likely taken from the village where the distillery is located called “Blair Atholl”. Ownership changed hands many times over the years. Production halted again in 1932 until the end of World War II, and volumes doubled thereafter with an additional pair of distilling pots. Because their whisky is very full bodied, most of the production was used as a base for blended whiskies including Bell's, the UK's best-selling brand. What’s left were typically matured in Sherry casks for 12 years and released as single malts, meaning very few bottles for thirsty consumers.
 
Our OMQ Series II “Free For Yum Cha?” features such a limited Blair Athol 2010. Matured for 11 years in a specially selected sherry cask, this dram exudes fruity and spice notes that showcases Blair Athol’s unique flavours. We selected an Old Master Q artwork of the three main characters dining over a meal of yum cha, or perhaps a few meals judging by the finished plates under the table!
 

 

bottle-blair-athol_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Blair Athol 2010

Distilled: 10.02.2010
Bottled: 18.10.2021
11 Years Old
53.8%
Refill Sherry Butt 
309 Bottles

bottle-glen-elgin_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Glen Elgin 2010

Distilled: 24.02.2010
Bottled: 18.10.2021
11 Years Old
54.2%
Refill Sherry Butt 
355 Bottles

HK Whisky

Glen Elgin 2010

White Horse blended whisky has been regaining popularity in recent years. But many drinkers might be unaware one of the main components is Glen Elgin, a small distillery situated in Speyside. White Horse was once a top selling blended whisky in Hong Kong and older drinkers may recall adverts from back in the day!
 
Located in Moray deep within the heart of Speyside, Glen Elgin was completed in 1898 as the last distillery built during the Scotch whisky boom period. In order to be competitive, the distillery designed everything from the ground up. Speyside would have to wait another 60 years for its next new distillery. Glen Elgin was in financial trouble within months of establishment and had to shutter production. Three years later it was auctioned off. It wasn't until the 1930s that Glen Elgin's fruity style became the pillar of White Horse which made this boutique whisky a staple for years to come.
 
Glen Elgin’s single malt is not easy to find because of its low production levels and mainstream use in blended whiskies. Our OMQ Series II “Free For Yum Cha?”  captures the magic in a specially selected Glen Elgin 2010 that was matured for 11 years in a Spanish sherry cask. Notes of sweet honey and fruit evoke sensations of the very best from Speyside whiskies. We chose a comic showing the three protagonists in Old Master Q building relationships with each other while eating and drinking together, which is the perfect setting to enjoy this splendid bottling!

HK Whisky

Tomintoul 2005

 

omintoul’s backstory is an interesting contradiction. Their distillery began with only a pair of stills yet landed in the Guinness World Record by creating the world’s largest bottle of whisky in 2009 that stands 1.5m high with a capacity of 105.3L. That is enough to hold 150 standard bottles! This amazing feat showed the world they were capable of big things and made Tomintoul a household name in the world of whisky. They were commonly used in a wide variety of blended whiskies but began produce some beautiful single malts too after ownership moved away from Whyte and Mackay in 2000.
 
Like many distilleries, Tomintoul's name comes from the village where they are located. However, an official government report in 1797 recorded that all 37 families within the town were involved in the whisky trade, unofficially making Tomintoul one big whisky family!
 
OMQ Series II “Free For Yum Cha?” Tomintoul 2005 is a gorgeous 16 years  single barrel matured in a new Spanish oak hogshead. The larger than life character is shown with this cask strength release. The bottle artwork shows a humorous OMQ comic depicting Old Master Q & Big Potato enjoying every Hong Konger’s favourite hotpot with a giant twist! 

 

bottle-tomintoul_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Tomintoul 2005

Distilled: 17.05.2005
Bottled: 18.10.2021
16 Years Old
57.9% (Cask Strength)
First Fill Sherry Butt  
345 Bottles

Caol Ila.jpg

  Hong Kong Art Series 1:
林雅儀 Zoie Lam

bottle-caol-ila_s.png

HKW “Hong Kong Art” Caol Ila 2008
Distilled: 10.10.2008
Bottled: 18.10.2021
13 Years Old
58.4% (Cask Strength)
Bourbon Hogshead  
300 Bottles

Hong Kong Art

Caol Ila 2008

 

Strong peaty whiskies has become darlings of the  industry in recent years with many drinkers challenging their taste buds with ever increasing ppm. This shift has pushed Islay region whiskies to meteoric heights. Although the region is only the size of four Lantau Islands, it holds 10 distinct distilleries because these peat behemoths are the soul of many blended whiskies. However there is nothing like a smooth peaty Single Malt to bring out complex layers of mind blowing flavours.
 
Caol Ila est. 1846 is the largest distiller operating on Islay. Owing  to the gentleness and light colour of the peat, Caol Ila is a popular base for many blended whiskies in the market. Its owner, Diageo, decided to rebuild the facility in 1972 with the distillery to increasing to three distilling pots to match the insatiable demand from Johnnie Walker blended whiskies.
 
The HK Art Heroes Series I is our  inaugural series to feature the work of a local artist. Each series will showcase a uniquely HK  style  connecting with overseas cultures that highlights the city's international appeal. Our very first collaboration is with Zoie Lam, a renowned illustrator, fashion designer and stylist. Her creations “ZL by Zlism” broke new grounds in 2010 and her work successfully appeared in exhibitions in London, Berlin, Tokyo and Singapore. Our label features interplanetary inhabitants of Zlism incorporated with iconic local cultural items such as rickshaws and double decker buses, showing the reach of Hong Kong culture has no bounds!

 

Hong Kong Art

Linkwood 2010

 

Linkwood is perhaps Scotland's most law-abiding whisky distillery! Before 1823, there was a heavy tax on whisky producers thus many distilleries chose to operate without a licence. Built in 1821, Linkwood did not play around with the rules and only began production after officially registering in 1824. The early distillery had only a pair of small distillates until 1972 when a new distillery was built next to the plant. The old site was renamed Linkwood A and used for R&D while the new plant was called Linkwood B. This lasted until 2012 when the facility was again reconstructed.
 
Linkwood is easily identified by whisky aficionados for its particularly plump and rounded character which comes from its long fermentation and distillation periods. It has always been a main component of the Johnnie Walker blended whiskies. There are low quantities left for the Linkwood’s original bottling which means even far fewer for independent bottlers to capture this special Speyside spirit. 
 
Our HK Art Heroes Series I presents one of these rare finds in a Linkwood 2010 single malt gently matured in Sherry cask for 11 years. The featured bottle artwork is a collaboration with Zoie Lam, a celebrated local illustrator, fashion designer and stylist. It displays the colourful and happy world of Zlism amongst some of Hong Kong’s famous landmarks. This vibrant whisky will bring out just as much joy for anyone willing to try! 

 
 

bottle-linkwood_s.png

HKW “Hong Kong Art”
Linkwood 2010

Distilled: 26.01.2010
Bottled: 18.10.2021
11 Years Old
56% 
Refill Sherry Butt  
566 Bottles

螢幕擷取畫面 2021-12-11 230814.png

  經典港漫系列(聖誕特別篇):
「聖誕快樂」老夫子

香港的漫畫曾經威風八面,輸出到世界各地,《老夫子》絕對是其中的經典。

《老夫子》的作者是王家禧,他由 1962 年開始,採用了長子王澤的名字為筆名,在香港的報章繪畫漫畫,後來結集成單行本推出,成為了香港最受歡迎的漫畫書之一。《老夫子》透過嘻笑怒罵的手法,諷刺時弊及人性,以四格或六格漫畫勾畫出市井式的生活幽默,贏得眾多香港市民共鳴,後來更被翻譯成多種語言,出口到馬來西亞、泰國、印尼,以至印度等國家,成為香港特式次文化。

王家禧先生於 2017 年逝世,兒子王澤繼續繪畫《老夫子》,由於他向來以兒子之名作為筆名,因此並無影響漫畫的傳承。威士忌需要長時間的熟成,不少調酒師的產品,亦要傳到下一代人才裝瓶面世。只有品質優異的威士忌,才會超越時間或年代,為我們帶來味蕾上最滿足的享受,成為真正的經典。

香港威繼 2020 年 11 月 11 日推出首批威士忌,今年再在聖誕黃金檔期發表兩個全新系列及聖誕特別版合共 6 款作品。每款均是嚴選蘇格蘭單桶精品,數量極少,每瓶均有獨立編號。無論你是威士忌收藏家,抑或正在為親友挑選聖誕禮物,這批彌足珍貴的威士忌都是不容錯過的選擇。

bottle-glen-garioch_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Glen Garioch 2011
Christmas Edition

Distilled: 04.10.2011
Bottled: 18.10.2021
10 Years Old
54%
First Fill Barrel  
220 Bottles

香港威《老夫子》

聖誕特別版

Glen Garioch 2011  

你知道蘇格蘭現存歷史最悠久的威士忌蒸餾廠是哪一家嗎?答案是「無從稽考」。因為在 1823 年英國推出全新稅制之前,大部分蒸餾廠都是無牌經營的,既然無牌,當然不會有白紙黑字記錄。如果根據紀錄,最老的蒸餾廠是建於 1775 年的 Glenturret,不過當地酒壇傳說你要敬老的話找的應該是 Glen Garioch!雖然 Glen Garioch 於 1797 年「創立」,但由於蒸餾廠位處 Oldmeldrum,被譽為全蘇格蘭最佳大麥產地,不難想像蒸餾廠的營運歷史遠遠比註冊年份更老。

即使 Glen Garioch 可得蘇格蘭最好的大麥,但因水源乾涸的問題被迫停產並賣盤。1970 年易手後新主人不惜工本尋找新水源,3 年後奇蹟地重開,更增加了產量,故事有如日本勵志電影橋段,充滿傳奇色彩。蒸餾廠現隸屬三得利,旗下還有 Bowmore。集團引入了 Bowmore 的熱力循環再用系統,讓蒸餾時發出的熱力傳到旁邊一公頃的溫室,種植出甜美的番茄。

配合 2021 年聖誕節,香港威特別找來一桶既傳奇又溫暖的 Glen Garioch,於 2011 年蒸餾,熟成於新桶的 10 歲精品,首次推出香港威聖誕期間限定特別版。酒標為老夫子和大番薯穿起聖誕老人服飾抱住大熊貓合照,即使在冰天雪地的環境,卻令人感覺溫暖。香港威《老夫子》Glen Garioch 2011 僅得 220 瓶,是你最佳的聖誕節禮物。
 

螢幕擷取畫面 2021-12-12 003235.png

  經典港漫系列(二):
「得閒飲茶」老夫子

香港威《老夫子》Blair Athol 2010

位於 Highland 產區的 Blair Athol 是蘇格蘭其中歷史最悠久的蒸餾廠,早於 1798年便建成,原名為 Aldour,可是開張不久便不明不白地停產了二十多年,1826 年才改名為 Blair Athol 重開。

Blair Athol 的名字取自蒸餾廠位處的村莊 Blair Atholl,有趣的是,廠名把最後的 “l” 字母刪掉。蒸餾廠多次易手,1932 年再度停產,直至二次大戰結束,又像火鳳凰重生,並添置多一對蒸餾壺令產量倍增。不過由於 Blair Athol 的酒體豐滿,釀成後絕大部分會被拿來作為 Blended whisky 的基酒,包括英國最暢銷品牌 Bell’s,餘下僅有約半成會以雪莉桶熟成 12 年,裝瓶成為 Single Malt 推出,因此市面上的 Blair Athol 威士忌極為罕見。

香港威經典港漫系列 (二) 「得閒飲茶」老夫子,特別找來一桶 2010 年蒸餾的Blair Athol 威士忌,經過 11 年在雪莉桶熟成,果味豐富並散發著冬天香料的溫暖感,盡顯蒸餾廠別具一格的風味。酒標設計特別挑選了《老夫子》三位主角上茶樓的有趣漫畫,雖然枱面只是一盅兩件,在枱底卻擺滿了吃完的蒸籠碗碟,風趣抵死,不禁令人發出會心微笑,不愧王澤的代表作。
 

bottle-blair-athol_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Blair Athol 2010

Distilled: 10.02.2010
Bottled: 18.10.2021
11 Years Old
53.8%
Refill Sherry Butt 
309 Bottles

bottle-glen-elgin_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Glen Elgin 2010

Distilled: 24.02.2010
Bottled: 18.10.2021
11 Years Old
54.2%
Refill Sherry Butt 
355 Bottles

香港威《老夫子》

Glen Elgin 2010

近年不少飲家熱情追捧舊版 White Horse 威士忌,但可能不知道,喝的主要是來自 Speyside 一家小型蒸餾廠 Glen Elgin 的出品,而泥煤味道則來自 Lagavulin。White Horse 曾是香港其中最受歡迎的 Blended whisky,當年廣告中一句「白馬威水,仲使講咩!」是資深飲家的集體回憶。

Glen Elgin 位於 Speyside 產區中心的 Moray,建於 1898 年,是 19 世紀的Speyside 威士忌熱潮最後一家誕生的蒸餾廠。為了趕工,蒸餾廠設計一切從簡,看起來平實樸素,Speyside 要在 60 年後才有另一家新的威士忌蒸餾廠出現。Glen Elgin 落成幾個月便遇上財政困難需要關門,三年後慘被拍賣以賤價成交。直至 1930 年代,Glen Elgin 果味濃郁的風格成為了White Horse 的台柱,才保住了這家別具特色的蒸餾廠。

由於 Glen Elgin 產量少,而且大部分成酒都會拿來作為 Blended whisky 品牌基酒,市面上的  Glen Elgin Single malt 並不常見。香港威經典港漫系列 (二) 「得閒飲茶」老夫子,特別找來 Glen Elgin 於 2010 年蒸餾的單桶作品,經過11年在西班牙雪莉酒桶熟成,帶有典型 Speyside 威士忌的甜蜜果味。酒標設計特別挑選了《老夫子》三位主角大吃大喝的漫畫,是香港人在餐桌建立友誼的最佳寫照。
 

香港威《老夫子》

Tomintoul 2005

Tomintoul 是一家很極端的威士忌蒸餾廠,開始的時候很小,僅有一對蒸餾壺,但又是最大的,因為蒸餾廠於 2009 年推出了全世界最大瓶的威士忌,瓶高 1.5 米,容量達到 105.3 公升,相等於 150 瓶標準裝。這項健力士世界紀錄,令到這家建於 1964 年的 Speyside 蒸餾廠聲名大噪。2000 年前,Tomintoul由 Whyte and Mackay 持有,釀成的威士忌都被用作調配品牌的各款 Blended whisky,易手後開始裝瓶成為 Single Malt 推出市場。

Tomintoul 名字的來源是蒸餾廠位處的村莊,不少蘇格蘭村莊與威士忌息息相關,Tomintoul 更名正言順是威士忌之鄉,根據當地政府官員在1797年寫的報告,該村住有 37 個家庭,全部均是賣威士忌的,當然,亦同時是威士忌飲家。村民有如一家人。

香港威《老夫子》Tomintoul 2005 由熟成於西班牙雪莉酒新豬頭桶16年的單桶Tomintoul 裝瓶而成,以原酒強度呈現最純粹的威士忌之鄉風情。酒標老夫子和大番薯的打邊爐漫畫風趣幽默,反映香港人對火鍋的熱愛。打邊爐是香港地道飲食文化,由大牌檔到星級酒家,不管大熱天時,抑或寒風刺骨,都喜歡圍爐吃喝,其實不過為了可以一班親友更長時間聚在一起天南地北。下次去打邊爐,你知道應該帶備甚麼酒了吧?
 

bottle-tomintoul_s.png

HKW “OMQ”
Tomintoul 2005

Distilled: 17.05.2005
Bottled: 18.10.2021
16 Years Old
57.9% (Cask Strength)
First Fill Sherry Butt  
345 Bottles

Caol Ila.jpg

  香港藝系列(一):
林雅儀 Zoie Lam

bottle-caol-ila_s.png

HKW “Hong Kong Art” Caol Ila 2008
Distilled: 10.10.2008
Bottled: 18.10.2021
13 Years Old
58.4% (Cask Strength)
Bourbon Hogshead  
300 Bottles

香港威《香港藝》

Caol Ila 2008

泥煤重口味是近年威士忌壇的寵兒,不少飲家都在向 ppm 的高度挑戰,盛產泥煤味威士忌的 Islay 島水漲船高,成為明星產酒區。雖然小島面積只有四個大嶼山左右,卻矗立著近10家蒸餾廠,原因是這些重口味威士忌,是 Blended whisky 的靈魂。全賴重泥煤的 Single Malt,才可調配出層次豐滿的產品。

Islay 島上眾多蒸餾廠,產量最大就是正式註冊於 1846 年的 Caol Ila。由於Caol Ila 所帶的泥煤溫柔,色澤又清淡,輕易成為調配主流 Blended whisky的基酒,持有 Caol Ila 的 Diageo,在 1972 年決定拆卸酒廠重建,由一對蒸餾壺增加至兩對,產量三級跳,以配合 Johnnie Walker Black Label 的銷量。

香港威《香港藝》Caol Ila 2008 是香港威首個《香港藝》系列的產品,系列每次均會邀請一位具有個人風格的香港土生藝術家合作,串連香港和海外文化,凸顯香港的國際化視野。首位藝術家是集插畫師、時裝設計師及造型師一身的林雅儀 Zoie Lam。她於2010年以 Zlism 星人造型創作的插畫備受注目,並成功登陸倫敦、柏林、東京、新加坡展覽,為香港新生代藝術家代表人物。酒標除了一眾舞動的 Zlism 星人,還特別加入人力車及舊巴士等令人懷念的香港昔日標誌,呈現出躍動的香港文化。
 

香港威《香港藝》

Linkwood 2010

Linkwood 可能是蘇格蘭最奉公守法的威士忌蒸餾廠!在 1823 年之前,英國對威士忌生產商徵收重稅,於是蒸餾廠寧願鋌而走險無牌經營。興建於 1821 年的Linkwood,則沒有以身試法,直至 1824 年拿到正式註冊才開始釀酒。早期蒸餾廠只有一對蒸餾壺,規模很小,直至 1972 年,才在廠房旁邊加建新蒸餾廠,舊址稱為 Linkwood A,新廠則叫 Linkwood B,雙龍出海到 1985 年,舊廠改作研發新產品的基地,直至2012年拆卸重建。

Linkwood 因採用長時間發酵及蒸餾而酒體特別豐滿圓潤,一直是 Johnnie Walker 品牌的基酒,以 Single Malt 形式裝瓶的 Original bottling 非常罕有,即使獨立裝瓶商的出品亦不多見,是 Speyside 的滄海遺珠。

香港威《香港藝》系列特別找來 Linkwood 單桶作品,2010 年蒸餾,熟成於雪莉酒桶11年。酒標由集插畫師、時裝設計師及造型師一身的林雅儀 Zoie Lam 繪畫,以香港最具代表性的地標為主題,色彩鮮艷,與這款威士忌一樣充滿活力。
 

bottle-linkwood_s.png

HKW “Hong Kong Art”
Linkwood 2010

Distilled: 26.01.2010
Bottled: 18.10.2021
11 Years Old
56% 
Refill Sherry Butt  
566 Bottles